Information for Families and Individuals
Find A Testing Site
We will no longer be providing "Return to Work" letters. Please follow the guidance below on isolation and quarantine.
If you have tested positive for COVID-19, it may take several days before you receive a call from MMDHD. In the meantime, please:
- Isolate at least 10 days from the onset of symptoms. If you have no symptoms, isolate for 10 days from the date of your positive test. After 10 days, you may end isolation if it's been 24 hours with no fever without the use of fever-reducing medications and your COVID-19 symptoms (cough, shortness of breath, etc.) have improved.
- Notify your close contacts. Someone with COVID-19 can spread the virus beginning 48 hours (two days) before symptoms start or 48 hours (two days) before testing positive.
• Alert: COVID-19 Positive Self-Reporting Form: Click Here to Complete
If you have been identified as a close contact, it may be several days before you receive a call from MMDHD or Trace Force, a statewide notification system that partners with local health departments. In the meantime, please follow these instructions:
- Self-quarantine at home for 14 days from your last contact with the COVID positive person (while they were considered contagious).While the standard quarantine period is 14 days, you may end your quarantine after 10 days if (1) no symptoms or clinical evidence of COVID-19 develop and (2) you continue to monitor for symptoms for the entire 14 days.
- If symptoms arise any time during the 14 days, get tested. Testing locations can be found at www.michigan.gov/coronavirustest or by calling 211. If you test positive for COVID-19 you should follow home isolation guidelines. If you test negative, you still need to complete the 14 day quarantine.
- Shortening the quarantine period from 14 days to 10 days should be considered with caution for those living or working in congregate living settings or those working with high-risk individuals due to the increased risk of transmission with the shortened quarantine. Refer to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention for information regarding these risks. There may be conflicts in the length of quarantine for employers who fall under Michigan Public Health Act 238 or Michigan Occupational Safety and Health Administration rules. Employers should refer to these sources when determining whether employees need to wait 14 days to return to work. Your employer may have additional guidelines, so be sure to ask.
- Always follow guidance from your local health department or contact tracers.
- Contacts of a contact do not need to quarantine but should monitor themselves for symptoms.
Coronavirus Family & Individuals Support Resources
MI COVID Alert Mobile App
Where to get tested for COVID-19
Contact tracing explained
What You Need to Know About COVID-19 (CDC)
Information for Residents (MDHHS)
Pregnant Women and Children
How to protect yourself
What to do if you get sick
Older adults with medical conditions
Do you need food, housing, transportation or financial assistance?
Mid-Michigan District Health Department's Pathways Program
United Way of Montcalm and Ionia Counties
Capital Area United Way
United Way of Gratiot and Isabella Counties