We take action to protect, maintain and improve the health of our community.



Advancing innovative solutions to achieve healthier outcomes. 



Innovation, Collaboration, Accountability, Respect, Equity (I CARE)


The Mid-Michigan District Health Department was formed in 1966 and serves Clinton, Gratiot and Montcalm counties. Prior to 1966, the three counties operated as separate health department units. It moved into its current administrative building in Stanton in October of 1997. Branch offices are located in Ithaca, Stanton and St. Johns.

There are 52 townships, approximately 1,872 square miles and a combined population of over 181,200 year-round residents within the Health Department’s jurisdiction.


The role of the Mid-Michigan District Health Department is in the area of preventative medicine. The activities of all program areas include a health education component which hopefully makes us more effective as educators in the field of preventative services by promoting good sanitation, personal health practices, and community screening and education.


MMDHD is governed by a six member Board of Health, which is made up of two appointed commissioners from each of the three member counties. The Board of Health approves budgets and staffing changes and has broad oversight of program development.


The agency is funded through a mix of program grants, fees and local appropriations.


The agency has three divisions. The Community Health and Education Division and Environmental Health Division are responsible for direct service delivery. The Administrative Services Division provides support to the agency in areas such as emergency preparedness, quality improvement, performance management, public communication, finance, human resources, information technology and data support.


The Public Health Code requires that the agency employ a Health Officer and a Medical Director who meet State requirements.

Medical Directors:

1966-1969 Dr Franklin W. Smith, MD

1969- Dr Joseph Foust, Interim Director

1970- Dr John E. Paver, DO

1973- Dr Ahmad Aurang

  • 1985- Dr William Thar
  • 1986- Dr Richard Tooker
  • 1988- Dr Richard Nowak
  • 1992-2015 Dr Robert Graham DO
  • 2015-present Dr Jennifer Morse MD

Health Officers:

  • Joseph Latoff: 1974-1996
  • Kimberly Singh: 1996-2012
  • Mark W. (Marcus) Cheatham: 2012- present

Current Administrative Staff:

  • Health Officer: Marcus Cheatham Ph.D
  • Medical Director: Dr. Jennifer Morse DO
  • Administrative Services Division Director: Melissa Bowerman
  • Community Health and Education Division Director: Andrea Tabor, RN, BSN, MPH
  • Environmental Health Division Director: Liz Braddock, RS

We firmly believe that the following mandated Public Health Services are critical to sustaining healthier communities and achieving our vision:

  1. Monitor health status to identify community health problems.
  2. Diagnose and investigate health problems and health hazards in the community.
  3. Inform, educate, and empower people about health issues.
  4. Mobilize community partnerships to identify and solve health problems.
  5. Develop policies and plans that support individual and community health efforts.
  6. Enforce laws and regulations that protect health and ensure safety.
  7. Link people to needed personal health services and assure the provision of health care when otherwise unavailable.
  8. Assure a competent public health and personal healthcare workforce.
  9. Evaluate effectiveness, accessibility, and quality of personal and population-based health services.
  10. Research for new insights and innovative solutions to health problems.